Anchor & Submarine $275.00 - $525.00 per night

Type: Beach House
Pets Allowed: No
Location: 2479 SW Anchor Lincoln City, OR 97367






Click the main image above for larger images

We have always taken cleaning seriously but are working extra hard to sanitize every surface following Covid-19 CDC Guidelines and contactless check in. Please avoid a "Single Night Gap" May - Sept. ,Spring Break & Christmas week. Oceanfront with panoramic views and huge deck perfect for whale watching, sunsets and BBQs. Great house for a large group . Hot tub has glass walls and sits right on the edge of the deck overlooking the ocean. Picnic Table and plenty of wooden adirondack chairs make for some great outdoor meals. This home was used as a Lookout during WWII. Fun to spot the Whale Spouts and surfers directly out in front of the house surfing the famous Nelscott Reef! This home has 4 queen bedrooms and 1 comfy Queen Murphy bed. There are 3 separate kitchens, 3 living rooms and 3 fireplaces.
90 steps down to beach. No worries, there are resting benches!
Max 4 cars and 10 guests at Anchor House & Submarine (including stop by visitors) .
July & Aug has a 5 nt stay unless filling a gap.
Memorial Day & Labor Day Weekends 3 nt. 10 guests max/ 4 cars


Available Unavailable Check In Check Out
June 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
   01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
July 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
     01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
August 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
September 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30
October 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
November 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
December 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
January 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31
February 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
   01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28
March 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
   01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
April 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
May 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31


Map may not be 100% accurate.


Start Date End Date Rate Type Rate
06/01/2021 06/30/2021 Weekend $425.00
06/01/2021 06/30/2021 Midweek $299.00
07/01/2021 08/31/2021 Nightly $525.00
09/03/2021 09/05/2021 Nightly $525.00
09/06/2021 09/30/2021 Weekend $425.00
09/06/2021 09/30/2021 Midweek $299.00
10/01/2021 11/23/2021 Midweek $275.00
10/01/2021 11/23/2021 Weekend $309.00
11/24/2021 11/27/2021 Nightly $399.00
11/28/2021 12/19/2021 Weekend $309.00
11/28/2021 12/19/2021 Midweek $275.00
12/20/2021 01/01/2022 Midweek $325.00
12/20/2021 01/01/2022 Weekend $325.00
12/20/2021 01/01/2022 Nightly $325.00
03/18/2022 04/16/2022 Nightly $325.00
03/18/2022 04/16/2022 Weekend $325.00
03/18/2022 04/16/2022 Midweek $325.00


  • Casino close
  • Area Fitness Center nearby
  • Beach
  • Beach Walking
  • Beachcombing
  • Biking
  • Boating
  • Cable Television
  • Central Air
  • Clean with disinfectant
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cookware
  • Crabbing (Siletz Bay)
  • Deck
  • Deck chairs
  • Deep Sea Fishing ( Depoe Bay)
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Enhanced cleaning practices
  • Exceptional Sunsets
  • Exceptional Views
  • Fishing
  • Fly Fishing
  • Full Kitchen
  • Gas fireplace
  • Gas Stations/ Mini Marts close
  • Gift and Grocery stores nearby
  • golf @ Salishan & Chinook Winds
  • High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
  • Hiking trails nearby
  • Hot Tub
  • Ironing Board
  • Kite Flying
  • Library nearby
  • Linens
  • Medical Services Nearby
  • Microwave
  • Miniature golf nearby
  • Museums
  • Museums close
  • Near Chinook Winds Golf
  • Near playground
  • Near playground
  • Nearby ATM
  • Nearby Community Center
  • Nearby FedEx
  • Nearby Golf Course
  • Nearby Post Office
  • Nearby Theater
  • Newport Aquarium -20 miles south
  • No BBQ
  • No-contact check-in and check-out
  • On Beach
  • Outlet Shopping nearby
  • Oven
  • Private Beach Access
  • Refrigerator
  • Sears Glass Art - glass blowing
  • Sight-Seeing
  • Stove
  • Swimming (Community Center)
  • Television
  • Tide Pooling
  • tide pooling (front of house)
  • Toaster
  • Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
  • Utensils
  • VCR
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Watch Whales from Deck
  • whale watching
  • WIFI

Recent Reviews About This Property

"A beautiful house with an interesting history on a fanstastic part of the Oregon coast."

Brendan D. from Portland, 03/14/2020

"Unbelievable views of the coast. Very simple rental process and extremely helpful and friendly management company. Sometimes when you’re coming from out of town you feel like your asking too many questions but every single person I dealt with was polite and informative."

from Claremont, 08/20/2019

Manager Response: First time visit to the Oregon Coast, and it was a great experience for you! So glad! ANCHOR AND SUBMARINE is one of our more scenic and peaceful properties; I hope you saw the whales! Please come again! - Lynn

"We loved the set up of Anchor and Submarine for our family. We especially loved the deck overlooking the ocean and the whales we could see every morning. "

Heather S. from Portland, 08/01/2019

Manager Response: Sounds like an awesome time at ANCHOR AND SUBMARINE, a wonderful hidden gem! The whales are amazing to watch! Come again! - Lynn

"This home was wonderful and met our needs completely. The decks overlooking the ocean were awesome and the accessibility to the ocean was good. It was fun to be so close to downtown Lincoln City. Very clean and comfortable. We caught crabs and clams, visited the aquarium in New Port, and splashed in the ocean. The hot tub was great!"

from Helena, 07/19/2019

Manager Response: Sounds like you had an incredibly nice vacation; so glad you chose ANCHOR AND SUBMARINE to make it extra special. Hopefully you will come again! - Lynn

"Submarine property was nice. We had 9 family members staying so we rented the entire house. The top 2 units were surprising old and outdated. In my opinion the Anchor should be remodeled before renting anymore. The heat was finicky and the unit had very poor water pressure. The bathroom door would not stay shut or locked. WIFI was poor everywhere except Submarine unit.
After spending some time in all the units it appears that all upgrades have been put into the Submarine unit. The top 2 units need some attention.
The units have great views and the attached decks are very nice. Short drive to all restaurants/activities in Lincoln City."

from Colbert, 11/26/2018

Manager Response: Happy you enjoyed the Anchor n Sub. Thanks for the feedback. The Submarine & little Anchor were stripped down to studs and totally remodeled with granite counters, new kitchen, new floors, beds, furnishings, lighting ,etc. The older historic part of the upstairs was used as the Lookout during WW11. It's all clear aged fir with open vaulted ceilings . It was the only portion of the house that hadn't been remodeled and we wanted to leave that history. That kitchen has been totally remodeled in fir to keep in historic character with the rest of the fir moldings. It has granite counters , new cupboards & appliances. New mattress & Murphy bed also added for comfort. Thanks for the heads up on the bathroom door and the heat. Between the central gas heat and the fireplace you should have been plenty warm. We'll check that out before the guests. Hope to see you again.

"We really enjoyed our stay here. We were a family of 8 and there was plenty of room for all of us. Our married kids appreciated having a room to themselves. The location was perfect for our time in Lincoln City and the beach access was especially nice. The house was well stocked and clean. We would certainly come back again. "

from Orem, 08/23/2018

Manager Response: Glad you had great stay at Anchor and Sub! Come visit again soon!

"This place is breath taking! Very nice with unbelievable views. Loved it!"

Mark S. from Springfield, 07/23/2018

Manager Response: Thanks for staying! Visit again soon!

"Fabulous place for 4 couples to stay! Plenty of room and privacy for all! Gorgeous view from all levels and an easy walk down 90 steps to put your feet in the water. Clean, historical, unique - all the comforts of home! Plenty of things to do in the area! Management company was so helpful in all ways! We will return!"

from Driftwood, 06/22/2018

Manager Response: So pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Anchor and Submarine! Come visit again soon!

"Beautiful view. Found lots of agates. Saw whales spouting. Nice, protected-from-the-wind hot tub. The rental company was top-notch attending to us."

from Hillsboro, 06/11/2018

Manager Response: Honored to have you stay at Anchor n Sub. The coast guard chose it as a lookout during WW11 because of the incredible view! So happy you had a wonderful time. Hope to see you for a big storm in the Winter! Karen

"Our group consisted of three couples and two toddlers, so we were pleased that the house had three separate and private units, each with fireplace and kitchen/ette. Furnishings are newer and nice, and the main kitchen is well stocked. The steps to the beach were doable by the 3-year-olds, and the height above the sand made for good whale watching. We saw one, anyway."

from Eugene, 01/03/2018

Manager Response: Glad that you enjoyed Anchor & Sub! Hope to see you again in the future!

"The view was spectacular! The location was quiet. The setup of the house was ideal for our family of three couples and two small children. Having direct access to the beach was a real plus. The house is older but has been updated and was well maintained. The TV on the Submarine second floor didn’t have cable or local stations but had a DVD player. Fortunately, we had brought our Apple TV and it worked well with the WiFi. Overall, we had a wonderful time at the coast and would choose this location for our next trip to the coast."

from Boise, 10/17/2017

Manager Response: Glad that you enjoyed the Anchor & Submarine! Please come again soon!

"The property directly overlooks the beach. We experienced an added bonus of seeing whales frequently surfacing. The only negative about the property is that it is an older structure-but WELL MAINTAINED"

Palmer A. from GLENROCK, 10/14/2017

Manager Response: Glad that you enjoyed the whales and Anchor & Sub! Please visit again soon!

"Plenty of room for our growing family! "

from Winter Garden, 08/14/2017

Manager Response: Glad you enjoyed your time at Anchor & Sub! Please visit again soon!

"Great family compound with amazing views. Second time staying here and we look forward to coming again. Especially enjoyed the new Weber grill.

Jeane R. from Portland, 07/06/2017

Manager Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay at Anchor & Sub! Please come again soon!

"Had another wonderful stay in Lincoln City and our second time staying at the Submarine/Anchor. Could use a thorough cleaning of the entire place, there were ants. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and the private access to the beach. "

Mieschia W. from Sumas, 06/26/2017

"The whole time spent there was so peaceful and relaxing. I had my son, daughter, and her two kids at the Anchor & Submarine house. My daughter and her 2 year old son took the studio, my son the upper apartment, and my 11yo grandaughter and I had the main floor. We all gathered for meals on the main floor, I got to run on the beach, being the only EARLY morning person there. We got some wonderful family pictures (we all packed a black shirt and jeans) and I cannot wait to go back. I absolutely loved the stairs down to the beach, and back up! Even my 4month pregnant daughter with her 2 year old (almost 3) son had no problem with them. As a matter of fact, the only time she sat down to rest on one of the benches was when I made her so I could snap a picture! It was time well spent!"

Jayne R. from Cincinnati, 11/07/2016

Manager Response: Really glad you enjoyed your time at the beach! Please visit again soon!

"Fun place to stay with beautiful beach and tide pools. Our 2 children and their small families enjoyed having their own space as well as the communal deck. Hot tubs were clean with great views also. Only thing missing is a gas grill."

Jeane R. from Portland, 07/22/2016

Manager Response: So glad you enjoyed your time in Lincoln City! Please visit again soon!

"This was our second time at the Anchor & Submarine house, the rental is AMAZING we loved all of the new updates, spectacular views, sunsets and sunrises are incredible. All of our family members loved it ! We will definitely return. Thank you for everything :) "

Dan B. from Hillsboro, 07/06/2016

Manager Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for returning!


Al V. from Reno, 05/21/2016

"We had a great experience having anchor and submarine gave all of us our privacy when we wanted it but also great space to share meals and just enjoy the ocean together. The stairs are steep and feel like they will be overwhelming but ended up being very manageable. We will be back "

from Nampa, 10/23/2015

Manager Response: Please visit again!

"Dave and I flew to Oregon from Alaska to spend time with our boys and their families. The two of us stayed in the studio apartment, which was perfect for us. Our sons stayed in each of the other two units with their families. It was perfect to have 3 separate units! We could all be together in the same house, but still have our separate spaces. Most meals were prepared and eaten in the Submarine. Plenty of room for all 10 of us to dine together. The stairs to the beach were very doable for us. We went to the beach 2-3 times a day. The grandkids loved the hot tub on the deck. We had a stupendous time. Will definitely consider renting this property again!"

Zelda C. from Homer, 04/14/2015

"This is a great rental home. There are three living areas. We each had our own private space plus an area we could get together. The access to the beach was okay, the ninety steps were not a problem even for us older people. Tidal pools to the south and north which were fun for the kids. Cascade Head and Drift Creek Falls were two good hikes in the area."

Richard A. from , 04/06/2015

"Five women stayed three days for a Quilting Retreat. This was our 3rd year at this house. It is very comfortable and cozy. We had everything we needed - fireplaces, a great ocean view, and hot tub! When we needed something fixed - help was just minutes away! "

Patricia M. from Philomath, 03/09/2015

We had a great time! Loved the view , enjoyed the hot tub, very homey and comfortable. We had so much fun we are planning another trip next year!"

Angela M. from Portland, 02/11/2015

"The rental was great. The view was amazing and the separate units gave us some privacy and space. Loved the rental and would come back even with the 90 steps down to the beach:)"

Dany H. from Auburn, 07/29/2014

"We had a wonderful family vacation at the anchor and submarine. It was perfect as we each had our own space but could gather together. Loved the house and the beautiful ocean view. The steps to the beach were not a problem. Great exercise!! Will definately come back. Thanks"

Janet C. from Hyrum, 06/15/2014

"Our family of ten was very happy with our experience at this rental, the kitchen is a little small, but we took turns cooking. We liked the hot tubs very much and the beautiful view was wonderful. We did count 105 steps down to the ladder to the beach, but felt it was a good source of exercise so no complaints there. The Wifi was fast and that was nice. Gas fireplaces comfy. Only one complaint, the smoke detectors are ultra sensitive and even if we opened the oven door to check on food they went off. Thanks for a memorable vacation!"

Pam A. from Salem, 01/03/2014

"Loved the tie to WWII with the furnishings and pictures throughout. The view of the ocean was awesome and even the 90+ stairs were easy to navigate. It was great not having to drive to reach the sand below. The kids loved, loved, loved the hot tubs!"

from Missoula, 08/12/2013

"The view at this place is gorgeous and we have an excellent time there! "

from Richmond, 06/05/2013

"Lovely,relaxing, comfortable, gorgeous view. Thank you for a special weekend!"

Rosemary M. from Salem, 10/31/2012

"We've stayed in many vacation rentals and this was one of the better ones. This property was perfect for three different families giving us all a space to have downtime or put the kids to sleep but allow the adults to rejoin. The stairs were a bit of a hike but good exercise and tuckered out the kids. The location was perfectly hidden from 101 yet close town to get supplies. My only recommendations are that in the Submarine house the fridge get fixed as there was a constant drip from the freezer and the couch be fixed so that the cushions stop sliding out and swallowing the kids or ending up on the floor; sharper knives; and an investment into a gas grill. But all in all none of that prevented us from having a fantastic stay. "

Kelly K. from Seattle, 08/09/2012

"This is our third year renting from A1 with two years at Pirate's Cove and one year at Anchor and Submarine. We love both properties (side by side) and the location is fabulous. We have found the properties to be well maintained and inviting, with all of the amenities that we need. The Anchor and Submarine was especially nice for our large group because it has three separate apartments and gave everyone privacy, but also gathering space for meals and games. Having stairs direct to the beach is a wonderful bonus and we love to explore the tide pools. Overall, we couldn't be happier with A1 and the rental properties! "

Andrea H. from Portland, 07/10/2012

"Great stormy weather."

from Olympia, 11/18/2011

"We had a great time very charming place. Would definitely stay again. "

from Twin Falls, 08/22/2011

"Nice place, everyone had a good time. It should have been disclosed that the stairs to the beach were washed out, my mom was unable to go to the beach with the grandkids due to the 8' ladder that had been bolted in place of stairs."

Dave Z. from Battleground, 08/31/2011

"Everyting about our vacation at your property was perfect except for the squeeky bed in the Submarine house in the bedroom by the hot tub. We had a great time and as we left Monday, we walked outside to be surprised by two little doe smiling at us to send
us on our way. Thanks for everything."

Kelly M. from Spokan, 08/24/2011

"The house was amazing and the view was stunning! Myself and my guests loved the house. The steps to the beach were defintely alot to climb especially with a lot of stuff and a baby but not that impossible. Karen was so helpful and extremely nice. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. We will be booking thru A1 Beach Rentals for our annual trips from now on. Thank you for a memorable Birthday vacation!"

from PORTLAND, 07/27/2011

"Spacious with three seperate units that allowed our family to be together yet provided the privacy we needed. Anchor House has a mordern (looks like recently renovated) Master suite that was perfect for Grandpa and the older original part of the house has a charming 1930's feel to it that this Grandma happened to love! Daughter,son-in-law and our two grandaughters stayed in the beautiful ground floor unit which we used as the main space for family meals, games and so forth. Fantastic views from every deck! We saw so many whales we eventually stopped "oohing and ahhing". Amenities were very good, pots, pans, dishes were adequate, generous were the towels, shampoo, lotion and paper products. We brought our own supply of p-towels, aluminum foil, paper plates etc. and left it for the next guests use. My only regret was that while the views were beautiful, the beach was way down below with numerous stairs to get there that the older knees couldn't manage, but we knew this before we rented so this is not a complaint.
Response time to my rental inquiry was efficiant and informative and Realtor Karen of A-1 was very nice.
Grandaughter had a very happy 9th Birthday. Overall our stay was great! Off peak season so this place cost no more then the number of hotel rooms we usually pay for.
We are sold! We will never stay in a hotel again. Highly recommend this vacation rental and expect that all others listed are just as nice.

Lynda M. from Grangeville, 05/23/2011

"This house was great. We had 10 people in our party and there was space for everyone. We just made the submarine the main get together spot. It would be a great place for seperate family's to get together because each "apartment" has a bath and a kitchen."

Barbara O. from myrtle point, 11/16/2010

"1) west facing bedroom window in the submarine leaked over open suitcases.
2) great location
3) house was clean
4) when we called for extra blankets someone came immediately

from Gladsone, 10/13/2010

"How can 6 girls having a wonderful weekend away not have a fantastic time? The home was comfortable and spacious enough for us all. The only advice we would give the managers is to have a latch put on the inside door of the hot tub. Somehow the door blew shut while we were in there and oops, we were locked in. It's a good thing that two of the gals were upstairs and heard us call. Of course without the latch it made for the most memorable part of the weekend. We all feel that moment will never be beat in our future outings! Thanks much for the memories! And Yes...we would go back in a heartbeat! "

Paula F. from St. Helens, 04/09/2008

"Four couples shared the two houses and had a GREAT time. The houses are old and a bit "quirky" but truly enjoyable. Rental agency staff were responsive and quickly addressed all concerns. We travelled as far north as Tillamook and south to Heceta Head, and found the tide pools below our house to be the best around. All of us used the hot tub at some point--and we needed it after the climb up from the beach (which, by the way, is 105 steps plus the ladder). The view from the deck is spectacular. This is a great spot for a memorable visit to the Oregon coast. "

from Atlanta, 04/13/2008

"Overall the stay at Anchor House was amazingly fun. The house offered plenty of room for getting together while still presenting seperation for quiet times. I would happily recommend anyone to stay there."

Greg S. from salem, 04/28/2008

"I rented Anchor House and Submarine for a weekend get away for my boyfriend's birthday weekend. We had ten people from all over Washington and Oregon meet there and spend three nights. It was such a fantastic time. The view is incredible, the house interesting. We especially loved the set up, the balcony, the hot tub, I have to say, no one wanted to leave. Aside from the weather, it was perfect, but hey, we all knew what the weather would be like in October. We will definately be using A-1 Beach rentals again in the future. The people were so helpful when I called to make reservations. Going to Anchor House and Submarine also has kicked off a tradition for our close friends to have an annual friend trip, which might be the best thing we took away from this experience."

rikki s. from Walla walla, 04/14/2008

"The only complaints I had was that their was a nail on the steps up to the front door that I steped on. It went through my shoe. The only other complaint is that the ladder at the bottom of the long stairway down to the beach was in bad shape. It should be replaced. Or more stairs built."

Stacey B. from Kennewick, 04/14/2008

"We enjoyed staying in the Anchor House and Submarine. We were four couples, all the women named 'Mary'. We took turns cooking dinner; and in general had a very relaxing weekend. The article regarding the Submarine House was very interesting. We would definitely consider renting your house again. Thanks!!"

Dave H. from Bend, 04/12/2008

"With three kids, it was great for us to have access to both spaces. The kids could have their own "apartment" while the adults enjoyed peace & quiet by the fire upstairs. We had such a great time, we plan to make it our annual family vacation destination."

Sharon S. from beaverton, 04/13/2008

"The View is Amazing! And its nice that it has beach access. We loved the house, deck, hot tub, view, and the list goes on and on."

Jayne T. from Turner, 04/12/2008


"We are from Louisiana and we were visiting family from Salem. There were 6 of us staying. My husband and I took the Anchor and the others stayed in the Submarine upstairs and down. What a perfect set up. The home was exactly as pictured, clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable and we truly appreciated the owners effort to preserve the history of the home. We had one little issue with a key and A-1 responded immediately and took care of the problem. We spent most of our family time in the main house and when it was time to turn in, all the privacy you needed. I can’t say enough about the view from the three decks. God’s perfect beauty on display was such a pleasure to take in. We spotted a whale and watched him blow more times than we could count. A bald eagle and hawks routinely flew over the deck. I would highly recommend the Anchor and Submarine for families who want to spend some special time together. The location is convenient to grocery stores and seafood. Hope we get to return one day. "

Teresa M. from Monroe, LA,


No questions found, click the button below to ask the first one!

Ask A Question

Check Price

Select Dates

Share This Property

Want To Know More About This Listing?

Fill out the form below to get more information.